Jim Butcher’s CHANGES

25 04 2010

Ho. Ly. Shit.

I powered through Changes as a man possessed. I first cracked the cover at 2a.m. (immediately after finishing off 1921) and did not put the book down until I had read the very last page at 10:34. During that eight and a half hour long eternity I laughed and I wept, I cheered, I jeered, and I probably developed an ulcer. And I’m already planning on reading it again within the next month.

Butcher is, hands down, my favorite author. With every single release he manages to simultaneously appease my desperate need for escapism AND my passion for engaging with the world at its grayest, where traditional morality throws up its hands in despair and wanders off to get wasted on cheap whisky. Ted Dekker at his greatest is only a flickering candle next to the forest fire of Butcher’s wordcraft.

And Changes is Butcher at his very best.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

