Morgan Llywelyn’s 1921

25 04 2010

Like the river, we sparkle more in the sun, but we get our strength from the rain

Once again, Morgan Llywelyn manages to blow my mind with her seamless integration of exhaustive historical accounting and moving, passionate fiction. I’m not ashamed (in fact, I’m rather proud) to admit that my eyes teared up through multiple passages of this novel. As far as I can remember, it was the first I’d cried since that rough breakup all those many months ago.

I said it about the first book in this series (1916), and I will say it again: these novelizations of Ireland’s struggle for independence breath life into a period of the history of the century of my birth that I didn’t even know existed. The extent of my previous familiarity with Irish history can be summed up in three little words: IRA, bombs, and terrorism.

What an injustice to this proud and ancient people!

Every new hero Llywelyn reveals, every betrayal and senseless schism, every moment of shining glory, and every bitter disappointment cuts straight through my heart. I cannot wait to procure the rest of this series and allow Llywelyn to expertly guide me through the rest of this turbulent century.

Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2010
Jim Butcher’s CHANGES « Subbing for Eden

[…] Changes as a man possessed. I first cracked the cover at 2a.m. (immediately after finishing off 1921) and did not put the book down until I had read the very last page at 10:34. During that eight and […]

Leave a Reply

